Books

My Favorite parts from Sputnik Sweetheart


sputnik-sweetheart

  • “Why do people have to be this lonely? What’s the point of it all? Millions of people in this world, all of them yearning, looking to others to satisfy them, yet isolating themselves. Why? Was the earth put here just to nourish human loneliness?”
  • “I closed my eyes and listened carefully for the descendants of Sputnik, even now circling the earth, gravity their only tie of the planet. Lonely metal souls in the unimpeded darkness of space, they meet, pass each other, and part never to meet again. No words passing between them. No promises to keep.”
  • “So that’s how we live our lives. No matter how deep and fatal the loss, no matter how important the thing that’s stolen from us- that’s snatched right out of our hands- even if we are left completely change, with only the outer layer of skin from before, we continue to play out our lives this way, in silence. We draw ever nearer to the end of our allotted span of time, bidding it farewell as it trails off behind. Repeating, often adroitly, the endless deeds of the everyday. Leaving behind a feeling of immeasurable emptiness.”
  • “I dream. Sometimes I think that’s the only right thing to do. To dream, to live in the world of dreams- just as Sumire said. But it doesn’t last forever. Wakefulness always comes to take me back.”
  • “And I really wanted to see you, too”, she said. “When I couldn’t see you anymore, I realized that. It was as clear as if the planets all of a sudden lined up in a row for me. I really need you. You’re a part of me; I’m a part of you. You know, somewhere-I’m not at all sure where- I think I cut something’s throat. Sharpening my knife, my heart a stone. Symbolically, like making a gate in China. Do you understand what I’m saying?”
  • “I stick my head out and look up at the sky. Sure enough, a mold-colored half-moon hangs in the sky. Good. We’re both looking at the same moon, in the same world. We’re connected to reality by the same line. All I have to do is quietly draw it toward me.”
  • “And it came to me then. That we were wonderful traveling companions but in the end no more than lonely lumps of metal in their own separate orbits. From far off they look like beautiful shooting stars, but in reality they’re nothing more than prisons, where each of us is locked up alone, going nowhere. When the orbits of these two satellites of ours happened to cross paths, we could be together. Maybe even open our hearts to each other. But that was only for the briefest moment. In the next instant we’d be in absolute solitude. Until we burned up and became nothing.”

― Haruki Murakami, Sputnik Sweetheart

Leave a Reply

