Books · Musings

Norwegian Wood Musings! C:


I’ve found myself dozing off quite a few time the last couple of hours. I couldn’t blame myself for doing so; I’ve slept only for 3 hours yesterday after reading Chain Mail. I was glad that I finished reading it at 8:30 in the morning. That only means, that I’ve finally get a hold of reading a new book. As of now, I stopped at page 124; I almost reached a third of Norwegian Wood.

I got myself reading lying on my bed and made sure that the electric fan was steadily hitting my face. It made my eyes felt droopy.

I’d go out the room just to eat lunch or snack whenever I felt hungry, and when I have to pee.

The book’s quite alright. It wasn’t as interesting as I thought it would be. To be honest, I got bored reading the first 3 chapters. I’ve only compelled myself into reading the next pages because I don’t want to squander the money I spent on it.

And was it normal for me to imagine the characters as anime, and not real people? Usually, whenever I see the picture of a person on the book cover, I’d get to imagine that. And with the book, a face of a girl is featured. I believe that it was one of the protagonist, Naoko, But instead of having that image of her, I see her as an anime girl. It was the same for the rest of the characters.

Perhaps because it was in a Japanese setting; everything was set on Japan- the places, the names of the characters, and even the time setting.

I don’t imagine anime characters when I’m reading a book written by an American author. It’s odd to think of it that way.

I know I’ve promised myself that I wouldn’t get connected in the online world for the span of 48 hours. And within that time, I’d devote most of my time reading Norwegian Wood, and just get back right to the online world right after I’m done reading it.

My friend even texted me a while ago if I could hangout with them tomorrow. I didn’t replied at first, but right after texting me where we’d meet up tomorrow, I replied that I couldn’t. I didn’t tell her the exact reason, though. And I also told her that I wouldn’t used the internet not until the 23rd. She didn’t pry after receiving my reply.

Also, as much as I want to see this other friend before she gets back to Mindanao, I didn’t have enough money left in my savings if we were to go somewhere. And I still have a debt I owe to one of my friend’s brother. I don’t know if she could even recall, but I still feel guilty inside even though it was a long, long time ago.

I have to pay him no matter what. I’d feel embarrassed if I don’t.

But I couldn’t manage. I had the sudden urge to write something about how I’m progressing in reading this novel.

I guess it’s the right time to take a break.

Right now, I’m watching Adventure Time Episodes in Cartoon Network. But after realizing that I’ve watched these episodes being aired. I’m switching channels- from Cartoon Network to ABS-CBN’s Ina Kapatid Anak then to Myx’s Daily Top 10.

Right after this, I’d take a shower and get back into reading again.

Nah, I kid. I just changed my mind. I’ll eat Coco Pops cereals and finish Ina, Kapatid, Anak first before taking a shower. ;))

I want to get back into reading as soon as possible. I’ve noticed that everytime I read Murakami books, I can’t help longing for them once I stop. Sure it was boring at first, learning about Watanabe’s past and college years, but as soon as the story progresses, it makes me want to finish it as fast as I could.

*Since it’s commercial break in ABS-CBN, I’m watching The Simpsons in FOX right now. GAH! After typing, it just got on to commercial break. >:|*

– Ria N.

Leave a Reply

