So not yet finished .., Computer hanging… Must publish now…


December 14, 201

Wednesday

 

Dear Diary,

I have just recovered from sickness. I don’t have any fever right now and I don’t have any headaches but I think I still have bronchitis. Let’s just hope that my fever wouldn’t come back like what happened yesterday and the day before that. *crosses fingers* I just don’t want to lie in my bed sleeping, texting, resting, staring blankly at the ceiling, doing nothing again. But because of that, I, for the first time ever in my life, was able to read a book last night and finished it in just one sitting. It was a total page turner for me.

My sister brought it last Tuesday and since I have nothing else to do, I asked her if I can borrow it. The book was Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Leviathan. It’s actually an easy read, for me, that is compared to Wuthering Heights and The Book Thief. I tried reading the first few pages of those 2 books but then I failed to comprehend (especially when they are single spaced paragraphs and when the texts are too small). And this is the 4th book I’ve read this 2011 and let’s hope I can still add more before the year ends. (Oh darn! I can’t add Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist since I left it in Manilaaa. I was already halfway through before I even started Book of Dares T_T). I might jump to Son of Neptune over the school break.

So here’s the synopsis:

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

Warning:

Contents below contain spoilers. If you’re not willing to buy the book, you’re welcome to read. If you will buy the book, feel free to stop anytime.

Langston, Lily’s gay brother, and his boyfriend, Benny, started the whole red notebook plan to make her little sister busy over the holidays in search of a boyfriend(because she still never had any boyfriend since birth and that Langston was teaching her what it’s like to have one and how it feels) and most importantly, so that Langston and Benny can have their own “private time” together since their parents are in Fiji. So Langston asked his bf to stay from December 21st until New Year’s Eve because only during New Year that they’re parents will come back.

It was a pretty exciting story and I really enjoyed it. For every chapter, Dash and Lily had their own POV. Dash was a little booky and I didn’t like him at first because of that. His vocabulary was magnanimous to the point that I was simply going over the unfamiliar words he was using but I could still get the gist of what he was saying. But when he met Lily, and Lily’s description of him was cute and handsome and tall with black hair and deep ocean blue eyes, my feelings for him changed and flipped. I wanted him myself lol but not as much as I want Percy Jackson for myself (up to the point that I don’t want Annabeth to be included on the series joke. That’s asking too much). Lily, on the other hand, was this innocent little girl who has always loved Christmas so much but this year, it was a sad blow to her Christmas spirits because her parents were planning to send her to Fiji while her brother, Langston, was staying in Manhattan and also her parents weren’t home this Christmas and it was her first time not being with them. But because of her parents not being around, and Langston being a bad babysitter, and her grandpa going back and fourth to Florida, and Dash’s dares, she, somewhat, turned all flirty and a liar. No! I liked her more when she used to act like a kid. She also offered Edward Thibaul, her gerbil killer when they were in first grade, a kiss, when she was drunk at the bar. Why did she even invite him? Ooh! I hated that part so much! That was when Dash recognized the drunk girl as Lily and Lily recognized Dash as Dash. So much for first impression. Nice going, Lily. You just blew it off.

Anyways, I loved the ending! Dash, in my imagination, was so cute! I also imagined Lily as a pretty gal with long blonde hair. But I didn’t imagine her wearing black tunic glasses. I only remembered it during the last part when they got locked inside the storage room.And then they kissed! ♥ Oh Dashielle! That was when I realized that a kiss can be so complicated lol.

I’ll try to draw Lily, and of course, Dashielle. I couldn’t get his face out of my mind. (In my imagination he’s super cute, okay?)

I want Dash & Lily Part 2! Please.

Oh! I also forgot to tell you. That we’re leaving Manila tonight at 8pm together with my mom. After my mom found out that my fever “came back” yesterday, (I originally got sick last Saturday. I recovered on Sunday but then I got sick again on Monday night until Tuesday and then I completely recovered on Wednesday but I still have to drink my medicine tablets.) she immediately bought a ticket and left Naga at 11:30am and arrived in Manila at around 9pm. I got the news from my sister when we were on our way to Capitol Medical Center. She and my bro teased me again, that’s for sure that anytime I’d cry. Mom went to Manila because she was worried sick about me. Aww… The next day, I was feeling a-okay so I went home together with my mom already because I don’t want her to be alone when she leaves so I went with her. The original plan was that Dad will go to Manila on Monday so that the my dad, my bro, my sister, and I, plus our dog(with a totally new look) and our yaya will go home altogether. But I have to stick with mom right after what she just did for me. :)

And here are the books I’vre read this year so far arranged according to date read:

1.)Sophie Kinsella’s Remember Me?

My friend let me borrow it right after she finished reading it and wow. It was also a page turner. She introduced me to the world of chic-lit and ever since then, I got engrossed into buying books with chic-lit genres. I read it during my spare time- while riding the LRT, while there were no homework nor quizzes, during my weekend- because before me, her bestfriend was supposed to borrow the book first.

2.) Margaret Peterson Hadix’s Just Ella

No no no. Don’t ever buy this one. It’s as if it was written by a ten year old. Ugh… I’m so mean. But it’s true. What made me buy this book was because of the cover. The girl was so pretty. The book was a retelling of Cinderella but Cinderella wasn’t completely happy meeting the prince and living the princess life. She preferred to stay and live a normal life instead with no rules or anything. Same old same old princesses who doesn’t want to be a royalty but the only difference was that she had no royal blood to begin with. Even my sister laughed at me for buying the book. Note to self: Never judge a book by its cover, literally.

Woah woah woah. Scary right? I guess that’s the first edition’s cover. Here’s the real cover of the book that I bought in Fully Booked Katipunan.

Pretty girl, isn’t she? And when I was reading the book, I was already imagining her. I’m always like that whoever’s on the cover, I’ll imagine him/her as the characters described in the book even though the book’s description of the character are different from the physical appearance of the person on the cover. Like in Something Borrowed and also in Water for Elephants in which Robert Pattinson was the cover of the book and also the female there who kinda looked like Marilyn Monroe. I imagined the characters as them.

Note to self #2: Don’t buy a book with actors/human drawings on the cover especially when they display the face. I’d like to create my own character, my own depiction, my own imagination of them inside my mind.

3) Emily Giffin’s Something Borrowed

Loved the book and loved the movie. But I liked the book more because everytime, someone turns a book into a movie, they’d remove something, alter something. Like in Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, the movie was a blah but the book was oh so good. My most favorite book and nothing, I’m sure, can surrogate that. Ever. Percy Jackson is loved and will be my number one hero in my heart. Anyways, my thoughts are getting drifted again, ever since the day I’ve laid my eyes on this book and read the synopsis, I was getting goosebumps reading it. Yeah. For real. I don’t know why. Maybe I was too exited? Or maybe because I could relate? Yes, to be honest, I kinda can relate with Rachel. I have this friend at school who’s better at everything compared to me. She puts make up on better than me, her grades are also better than me, she socializes better than me but at least I’m taller than her. That’s it. Ugh. Here

Another chic-lit. I like Remember Me among the three and maybe even the four? It was hard to compare

I’m not really a bookworm but I promise to read more books next year.

2 thoughts on “So not yet finished .., Computer hanging… Must publish now…

  1. Wow this entry was a little long but hey, idol kita, I can’t (to save my life) have a continuity (if you will) when it comes to my thoughts and putting them in writing. I enjoy long diary/journal/blog entries, it kind of gets you to see the other person sees the world and for an entry to grow that long, that person must have a fountain of insights. :) Anyway, I trust the holiday’s not bugging you with all the gift hunting craze and traffic and I hope you’re feeling better now. At the beginning of this post, I was thinking of suggesting a book but I noticed you’re into books turned to movies and some girlie books, I might not have that in my repertoire. (love Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist, have you seen the movie?I got the DVD from a tiangge, got curious,paid for it, watched it, had loads of fun).. Have you tried video blogging? My friend Mishael (who is a guy by the way) will take a stab at it. We haven’t started anything yet but as soon as we got it rolling, please watch. :)

    CHeers!! Happy CHristmas..Oh and santa is not real. :) hohoho…

    1. Hahaha! I’ll try to watch it next year or as soon as our desktop gets fixed and I might even buy the book and compare them again.

      The protagonist looks really familiar though… He looks like Scott from Scott Pilgrim vs. The World. *googles* *gasps* He is! He’s Michael Cera! XD I super loved that movie btw. XD

      Yeah, I’ve tried video blogging… once? Twice? But it was a blah. I’ve set my videos in my “Youtube channel” into private so no one can see them. XD I’m looking forward to your vlog, then.

      I know he doesn’t exist. I believed in Santa until I was 9 :( XD

Leave a Reply

